LANGLADE COUNTY CLERK'S OFFICE
800 CLERMONT STREET
ANTIGO, WI 54409
MARRIAGE LICENSE INFORMATION
Wisconsin law (s. 765.05) specifies that a Wisconsin Marriage License may only be issued to persons being married in Wisconsin. No blood tests or medical examinations are required. However, Wisconsin law 765 requires that applicants for a marriage license provide the following proof of eligibility to marry:
1. Proper Identification and Proof of Age:
An applicant must be 18 years of age or older to apply for a marriage license without parental permission.
No person under the age of 16 may marry under any circumstances.
All applicants shall present a certified copy of their birth certificate, which can be obtained from the Register of Deeds Office.
2. Proof of Residence:
A current driver’s license or other official document showing the applicant's CURRENT ADDRESS is required.
Application for marriage license must be made in the County Clerk’s Office. If both applicants are residents of other states, application can be made in the County Clerk’s Office where the ceremony is to be held.
3. Divorced Persons:
Divorced persons may not remarry until 6 months after the granting of Judgment of Divorce, regardless of where the divorce took place. You must bring in documentation as to the date of the final hearing.
4. Waiting Period:
APPLICATION CAN BE MADE 60 DAYS IN ADVANCE OF THE WEDDING, BUT MUST BE MADE AT LEAST THREE DAYS AHEAD, BEFORE THE LICENSE CAN BE ISSUED. The license is good for 60 days after it is issued. If you would like the license to be issued within one hour of application, there is an additional $25 charge at the time of application.
1. Proof of Residence – Current Driver's License with CURRENT ADDRESS.
2. CERTIFIED copies of birth certificates.
3. Know your Social Security Number
4. Date of Marriage, Location, Officiant’s name, address & phone number.
“Neither our office nor the State Vital Records Office is able to confirm the legality of a religious officiant. If you have a question about the legality of the officiant you have chosen, you may want to seek legal counsel.”
5. Both Bride and Groom must come in to sign documents
6. If this is not the first marriage for applicants, the Judgment of Divorce, which was at least 6 months ago, a certified copy of the death certificate of the previous spouse, or court annulment papers must be
presented as proof.
7. Bride and Groom will state the number of years of school they completed.
8. The present fee is $60.
IT IS ILLEGAL FOR WISCONSIN RESIDENTS TO MARRY OUTSIDE THE STATE TO AVOID WISCONSIN LAWS.